Overdue Reflections

During my time at Lincoln Lutheran, I have been counting down the days to this moment. I’ve been excited to leave Lincoln Lutheran for so long, but I’ve never been less excited than at this point in time. My time to depart from this place. The anticipation of receiving my diploma and being done with Lincoln Lutheran and all of it’s wonderful attributes…has shrouded how I really feel about this school and leaving it. But as I get closer I’ve begun focusing less and less on that final day, and begun reflecting more and more on the days of the past. Days of fun, happiness, fellowship, struggles, hardships, and much more. All of which have comprised my “career” at Lincoln Lutheran and have taught me so much about how to live my life, that I feel prepared for my future more than I ever anticipated.

There has been a lot that I have learned in my time at Lincoln Lutheran. But it seems to me that I value and remember more of the “life lessons” that I have learned while here. I have learned a lot in all of my classes, but what has really stuck is what teachers, coaches, and my friends have taught me throughout my years at Lincoln Lutheran. My football coaches during high school taught me to play hard and always fight until the final whistle. They taught me to never quit on the field, and in life. My golf coaches have taught me how to play under pressure, and keep my emotions and mental play in check. They have taught me to try my best, and trust God to do the rest. My teachers have given me life lessons every day that are preparing me for the stages ahead. Without all the life lessons I have received I definitely would be less prepared for the life ahead of me.

Although I have learned a lot here at Lincoln Lutheran, there is one thing that comes to mind that I wish someone would have told me that would have helped me greatly here at Lincoln Lutheran and beyond. I wish that someone would have told me during middle school and early high school to branch out and try and make friends outside of my comfort zone. Before junior and senior year, I tended to stick to my group of friends and not much else. And I feel that I missed out on a lot of good memories because I didn’t make the friends I have now, back then. So if there is anything I would have to recommend, I would recommend to get out of your comfort zone. Because I can guarantee that it will make you friends that will provide you with lifelong memories and a lifelong bond.

One Bible verse that I have always found comfort and strength in is actually my confirmation verse. Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.” Joshua 1:9. This verse has always given me confidence that I can be successful in this world because God is with me wherever I am. He will protect me and guide me through the path that he has put forth for me. All I have to do is be strong and courageous and God will guide me according to His plan. This verse has always helped me when I am going through struggles in this life, and it is a good verse for everyone who is finding it hard to be strong and courageous in their lives.

Even though I am finished at Lincoln Lutheran, there is a lot of things that I will take with me when I go on to the next stage of God’s plan for me. Firstly, I will take with me everything that I have learned here at Lincoln Lutheran. All the things I have learned in classes, and all the life lessons that I have learned. I will also take with me the ability to share my faith with others that I have gained while attending Lincoln Lutheran. Before coming here, I had no idea how to talk to others about Christianity. But through classes like apologetics, and ethics I feel so much more prepared to share my faith with others.

Although it is extremely sad to be leaving something I have been a part of for almost half my life, I know that Lincoln Lutheran has properly prepared me for that final farewell coming in the next week.

 

Leave a Reply

